Why I Believe I Have Autism – Even Before the Formal Assessment

Originally published at: https://theabilitytoolbox.com/suspecting-autism-before-formal-diagnosis/

In less than a week I’m getting evaluated for autism by a neurodiversity-affirming psychologist. But I’m already almost 100% sure I have it. I’m not 100% certain, but I’m pretty certain.

Whether they diagnose me formally (the DSM-5 system: 3/3 under criterion A and at least 2/4 under criterion B) is partly up to some subjective impressions and interpretations on behalf of the particular clinician. I reckon I could see two different psychologists and one would diagnose me with it and the other wouldn’t. That’s just how it is.

It’s OK if you are skeptical. When I started learning more about autism last year, I also was very skeptical and doubting. For example, a few months ago, I began reading Unmasking Autism and some early paragraphs made me think: I’m sure I don’t have autism.

But I just couldn’t let it go, so I kept sniffing around. And sniffing. And sniffing. I started connecting all these dots and gathering pretty convincing evidence from across my entire lifespan, going back to my earliest memories.

In terms of the boxes you need to tick to be diagnosed, Embrace Autism has decoded the DSM-5 autism criteria into what they actually mean for you in your daily life. (Unrelatedly, they also state: “70% of the [DSM] board members … have pharmacological industry ties. Many make A LOT of money through research grants and stock in the drugs used to treat the conditions described in the diagnostic manual.” This has been an ongoing thing for a long time. You always gotta follow the money.)

The pre-assessment notes (aka why I think I’m probably autistic)